iNEMI’s Call-for-Participation Webinar: PCB Characterization for CAF and ECM Failure Mitigation Project


Reading time ( words)

CAF (conductive anodic filament) failures are an electrochemical migration (ECM) process that causes short circuits in PCBs. iNEMI’s Characterization for CAF and ECM Failure Mitigation project will assess several areas of concern related to CAF failure: (1) scaling and integration of laser and mechanical drill features, (2) incoming quality measures of glass/resin systems, and (3) manufacturing process factors that may limit future targets and demands. The project plans to:

  • Lower design reliability risk through characterization and study of focused incoming material and process factors driving CAF.
  • Enable pitch scaling and higher density board technologies and identify high risk PCB technology features. 
  • Develop a better understanding of CAF through hardware failure analysis and build awareness of failure mechanisms.
  • Enable predictive methodologies for laser and mechanical drill features.
  • Reduce product qualification costs and associated timescales.

Registration

Join our information webinar September 7 or 8 to learn more about this project and how it can benefit your company. Two sessions are scheduled (with the same content) and are open to industry. Advance registration is required. For additional information, visit iNEMI's website. 

Session 1
Wednesday, September 7, 2022
8:00-9:00 a.m. PDT (US)
11:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. EDT (US)
5:00-6:00 p.m. CEST (Europe)

Session 2
Thursday, September 8
7:00-8:00 a.m. CST (China)
4:00-5:00 p.m. PDT (US) on September 7
7:00-8:00 p.m. EDT (US) on September 7

Share




Suggested Items

Classes and Meetings Under Way at IPC APEX EXPO

01/23/2023 | Andy Shaughnessy, Design007 Magazine
IPC APEX EXPO 2023 doesn’t officially kick off until Tuesday, but there’s plenty of action going on here at the San Diego Convention Center. Booths are sprouting up on the show floor, and exhibitors are starting to arrive. Upstairs, committee meetings have been taking place all weekend; the IPC-J-STD-001 and IPC-A-610 Joint Task Group, and IPC-A-600 and IPC-6012 Joint Task Group meetings, were abuzz with activity. The Professional Development classes began on Sunday, covering everything from design through assembly processes, flex and rigid-flex, and technologies of the future.

Preventing De-wetting Defects In Immersion Tin Soldering

01/04/2023 | Britta Schafsteller, Atotech
Immersion tin is well accepted as a high-reliability final finish in the industry. Due to its excellent corrosion resistance, it exhibits major market shares, particularly in the automotive industry. During the soldering process, an intermetallic compound (IMC) is formed between copper and tin. One remaining concern in the industry is the potential impact of the IMC on the solderability of the final finish. In this article, typical failure modes in soldering immersion tin are described and correlated to potential root causes for the defects.

ICT Christmas Seminar 2022: The Caliber of a ‘World Cup’ Event

12/13/2022 | Pete Starkey, I-Connect007
Regardless of the potential distraction of the international football match between England and Wales in the World Cup competition, an enthusiastic crowd of PCB fans gathered in Meriden UK for the Institute of Circuit Technology Christmas Seminar, an eagerly-awaited networking opportunity that included a face-to-face industry welcome event and an outstanding technical programme. Guest speakers highlighted new technology in selective solder nozzles, flexible circuits, industry cooperation, and a greener future by recycling PCBs.



Copyright © 2023 I-Connect007 | IPC Publishing Group Inc. All rights reserved.